Klaus Tochtermann member of the EU High Level Expert Group ‘European Open Science Cloud’

Klaus Tochtermann has been appointed as one of ten members of the High Level Expert Group ‘European Open Science Cloud’ – Expert Group will provide strategic advice on research data infrastructure

Kiel/Hamburg, 21st September 2015: Klaus Tochtermann has been appointed of the EU High Level Expert Group ‘European Open Science Cloud’. This Expert Group is initiated by the European Commission, DG Research and Innovation. Klaus Tochtermann is the director of the ZBW - Leibniz Information Centre for Economics and professor of computer science at the University of Kiel.  

The Expert Group will provide strategic advice for the Commission on research data sharing, data stewardship and data reuse in the context of the implementation of the ‘European Open Science Cloud' – part of the Commission Digital Single Market Strategy. The advice will help set the strategic direction of this initiative, including broad implementation criteria, the mechanisms of sustainable funding and the governance of a data sharing and reuse infrastructure for Europe. The first meeting will be on September 22nd in Brussels.  

The ‘European Open Science Cloud’ is perceived as a sustainable infrastructure for the management and long-term stewardship of research data, and aims to accelerate discovery and innovation. The infrastructure should support Science in Europe and it should make existing data infrastructures in different domains more interoperable. It must also support controlled access to data where this is needed for reasons of privacy or data protection.  

The Commission High Level Expert Group ‘European Open Science Cloud’ comprises ten experts in the field of open science, research data sharing and scientific data infrastructures. The other members are: Paul Ayris (Director of Library Services and Leader of the KPA on Communications, Outreach and Open Access, UCL), Jean-Yves Berthou (Innovation Program Director, EDF), Rachel Bruce (Deputy Chief Innovation Officer, Jisc), Stefanie Lindstaedt (Director of Knowledge Technologies Institute, TU GRAZ & Managing Director Know-Center GmbH), Anna Monreale (Assistant Professor, University of Pisa), Barend Mons (Professor in Biosemantics, Leiden University Medical Center), Yasuhiro Murayama (Director of Integrated Science Data System Research Laboratory of NICT, Science Council of Japan), Caj Södergård (Research Professor in Digital Media Technologies, VTT), and Ross Wilkinson (Executive Director Australian National Data Service).  

Klaus Tochtermann is the only representative from Germany in this group.

Professor Klaus Tochtermann, Director of the ZBW
Photo credit: Pepe Lange
Download JPG, 4474 KB

Press release in PDF format