Klaus Tochtermann admitted to the Scientific Senate of the NFDI

ZBW director champions networked open science – focus on managing research data and data skills

Kiel/Hamburg, 19 October 2022: The director of the ZBW – Leibniz Information Centre for Economics, Professor Klaus Tochtermann, has been appointed today to the Scientific Senate of the National Research Data Infrastructure. He was nominated by the Alliance of German Science Organisations. For the next two years, Klaus Tochtermann will be the only representative of an academic library in the NFDI Senate.

The National Research Data Infrastructure aims to systematically index and network data from science and research for the entire German science system. The Federal and State governments are investing up 90 million Euros annually from 2019 until 2028. The Scientific Senate is the NFDI Association’s body responsible for the overall strategic direction and advises on the effects on the science system.

Professor Klaus Tochtermann, director of the ZBW – Leibniz Information Centre for Economics, has been nominated as expert to the NFDI Senate by the member institutions of the Alliance of German Science Organisations. The Board of Trustees of the NFDI followed the proposal, and as of 19 October 2022 he will be a member of the NFDI Senate for two years. The German library and Open Science communities will thus see one of their long-term representatives at the cutting edge of German science policy.

Klaus Tochtermann on his appointment: “I am happy to be able to participate in the design of the infrastructure for research data management in Germany in the coming years. I want to emphasise that NFDI is not a purely technical infrastructure; it is intended mainly to network the science community and to offer a platform for the training of data skills. The empowerment of researchers is elementary and a future skill of innovative science. It will be of particular importance to me to show how NFDI can interact with the European Open Science Cloud.”

Klaus Tochtermann is a nationally and internationally active driver of the Open Science movement and focuses on research data management. He has been a member of the German Council for Scientific Information Infrastructures (RFII) for eight years. The Council initiated the National Research Data Infrastructure for Germany, in which the ZBW is an active member in three NFDI consortia. Klaus Tochtermann is also one of the speakers of the International Support and Coordination Office of the international GO FAIR Initiative. Since 2020, he has been on the Board of Directors of the European Open Science Cloud Association.

As a driving force in the Open Science movement, Klaus Tochtermann initiated the Leibniz Research Alliance Open Science in 2012 and in 2014 the Open Science Conference which has been held annually since then.

Prof Dr. Klaus Tochtermann, Direktor der ZBW - Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft
Professor Klaus Tochtermann, Director of the ZBW - Leibniz Information Centre for Economics (Photo: Sven Wied)
JPG, 2,17 MB

Press photos Professor Klaus Tochtermann

Besides Klaus Tochtermann the following persons are members of the NFDI Scientific Senate: from the member institutions of the Alliance of German Science Organisations: Professor Anja Feldmann (Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Saarbrücken, and TU Berlin); Professor Wolfgang Marquardt (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH); Professor Petra Stanat (Institute for Educational Quality Improvement (IQB), Humboldt University Berlin). The Joint Science Conference (GWK) is represented by Cathrin Stöver (GEANT); Professor Dieter Kranzlmüller (Leibniz Supercomputing Centre, Munich); Professor Anita Schöbel (Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Mathematics (ITWM), Kaiserslautern); Frank Adam (Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Baden-Baden). The representatives of the Consortia Assembly are: Dr Barbara Ebert (German Federation for Biological Data, Bremen); Professor Robert Schmitt (IPT Fraunhofer Institute for Production Technology, Aachen); Professor Torsten Schrade (Academy of Sciences and Literature, Mainz) and Professor Christof Wolf (GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, Mannheim).